New Year’s Resolutions

2013 has begun and I am looking forward to a happy and successful year ahead. I’ve set some resolutions for myself like many of you may have and I plan to kick them off February 1st. I’m giving myself until then to get over the junk food cravings and the holiday stress. Plus, by giving myself a target date to begin my resolutions, I’ll be able to mentally and emotionally prepare myself for the goals I wish to accomplish by year’s end, before jumping full-gear into them.

Since I have the year off on maternity-leave, I want to make the most of it. My first and most hardest goal is to lose 50 lbs by November 1st. I know it seems like a lot at this time. But with dedication and a target weight-loss goal of 5-7 lbs per month, I should be able to lose the weight with some effort. I know, many people set this same resolution for themselves every year and as statistics show, by February or March many people abandon the goal all together. That’s why I’m begin in February. I’ve made up my mind that this is something I have to and want to do for myself this year and am giving myself ample time to prepare to succeed in completing it. I think many people abandon this goal because they don’t give themselves time to truly understand how they’re going to accomplish their goal and do a bunch of fad diets or join gym memberships promising they’ll go to the gym daily or multiply times per week without actually thinking the goal and task thoroughly and realistically through.

That’s exactly why I’m giving myself until February 1st to begin. This will help me prepare mentally and emotionally as well as give me enough time to think through my options of how I plan on successfully reaching my target weight. Once I decide on the right weight-loss method and technique for me, I’ll share my plan with all of you and we’ll walk through it together.

The second resolution I’ve set for myself is to complete the GED program and get my high school diploma. I dropped out of high school in grade 11 and have never gone back. Although, I have over 10 years work experience, this is something that constantly lingers as incomplete in my head. I’ve been thinking of Ni, what am I going to tell her when she grows up and asks if her mommy completed high school or not? I’ll be too embarrassed to respond and I want my daughter to look up to me, not be embarrassed of me. So, this is the year! I have to try my hardest to complete the courses and graduate.

D and I talked it through and he’s willing to help me whenever I need it for my courses, plus we worked out our budget and can afford to pay for the courses. So, my goal is to begin my first two courses on February 1st as well and today I will be registering to get the material sent to me. I’m really looking forward to studying again. It’s been quite some time since I’ve written essays and exams. And I’m sure, with D willing to take care of Ni while I do assignments, I’ll have ample time to complete them.

These are the main two goals I’ve set for myself personally. As for D and I, we’ve set a goal to save $3000-$5000 by year’s end. I know it doesn’t seem like a lot of money and should possibly be easy to do. But with Ni’s arrival and D’s work permit still not arriving yet, it may be a bit tough for us. Once D’s work permit arrives it should be a bit easier. But we’ll have to wait and see.

Anyway, as the weeks and months go by, I’ll update all of you on the progress of my goals and how close I’m getting to completing them. Until then, why don’t you share your new year’s resolutions with me? What do you want to accomplish this year? Where do you want to see yourself by the time 2014 arrives? Do let me know!

Cheers!

Tamana~

Leave a Reply

