Happy February: Beginning My Resolutions

Today I begin working towards my New Year’s resolutions: weight-loss, getting my GED and saving money. I know I’m a bit late starting but it’s been a busy week and I’m finally feeling better now too. I’m quite anxious to get started and see how I progress as the year goes by.

I’ve already set up my tax-free savings account with my bank and have made my first deposit. I’ve decided to have $25 automatically deposited from my checking account into the savings account. If I can save anything else on the side, I’ll go into the bank and have it deposited. Initially, I had planned to put away $1 the first week, then $2 more the next week and so on. But going into the bank that frequently would be a hassle, so for now I’m depositing $25 monthly. But will be putting money in a jar at home weekly and depositing it at the end of the month.

As for my GED, I received my first course in the mail a few days ago. I’m a bit nervous to be starting it as the course work has changed since I last took the course. But I’m sure with a little effort, I’ll get into it and succeed. Plus, D has offered to help whenever I need it; which is reassuring since I have written essays in a while.

As for my weight-loss goal, I’ve begun that too. I’ve cut out sugar, salt, cola, junk food, pizza, burgers and most pastas. I’m also drinking hot water before and after each meal. I’ve also been drinking hot water with cinnamon and honey two times a day. Apparently, this mixture helps cut fat and digest good better. I’ve weighed myself before beginning and my start weight was 238lbs. Wow, I can’t believe I just made that public. But so you all know, I don’t really mind telling you where I’m starting, even though its embarrassing for me because my target weight will be amazing! I’m try to drop down to 175lbs and I’m giving myself until December to achieve it.

Wish me luck on all my goals. I am really anxious to get to the finish line. It’s going to be tough but I have lots of determination. I’ll keep you all updated on my progress!

Leave a Reply

