Starting Point

I was never skinny. I always had meat on my body and even though my brother and dad joked about me being fat, I really didn’t mind my weight. My teenage years and during my early 20’s, I maintained a weight of 135-140 lbs. However, a few years ago my domestic issues evolved and I let myself go. I stopped caring about the way I looked or how I felt about myself. I was so focused on how other people made me feel and all the issues that occurred around me, that I didn’t realize I had gained 105 lbs.

Today I weigh 268 lbs. I hate myself for letting my body become what it has. I hate the way I look. I don’t feel confident!

But I need to. I can’t continue feeling or looking the way I do. I sometimes get the feeling that my low self-esteem is noticed by people. I want to change how I feel about myself. I want to change what I see when I look in the mirror. I don’t care what other people say about me or think about me. But I want to become the confident person I used to be.

People I work with and daily associate with have told me that writing down everything they eat, has helped them control their daily food intake. It’s also helped them control the quantity of food and calories they eat.

So, I’ve decided to start writing down my daily food intake. I’m not going to know exactly how many calories each item has, however, I will definitely try to find out. This part of my blog is more for me than anyone else. I want to assess my daily intake and activities. Hopefully, in a few weeks/months I’ll be able to get an idea of the things I need to change.

Because I want to change the way I look and feel, I am setting a goal for myself. I’m giving myself 12 months to lose 100 lbs. That averages out to about 8.3 lbs a month. I know that’s a little hard to do but it’s something I’d like to do. Here are a few other changes I’ve made:

  1. Cut out salt
  2. Cut out soda
  3. Drink at least 2-3 bottles of water a day
  4. Exercise or walk for at least 15 minutes a day
  5. Eat breakfast

Duration: 12 months (1 year)
Target: 160 lbs. – 170 lbs.

DAY 1:

Today’s daily intake: (Oh keep in mind, these daily posts will be updated multiple times throughout the day)

Early morning: 2 glasses 100% pure grapefruit juice
  2 slices whole-grain bread with cream cheese
Breakfast: Cup of yogurt with all-bran buds
Large cup of coffee (2 milks, 2 sugars)
Mid-morning: Large cup of honey, lemon, ginseng green tea – Walked up 1 flight of stairs
Lunch:
Michelina’s Fettuccine Alfredo (390 calories) – Walked for 15-20 minutes
Afternoon:
Large cup of honey, lemon, ginseng green tea – Walked up 1 flight of stairs
Mid-Afternoon: Small red apple
Dinner: Rice & Lentils
Snack: Bowl of green grapes
Dessert: Lime/vanilla popsicle

One thought on “Starting Point”

Leave a Reply

