The Best Advice I Ever Received

"Don't ever go to sleep angry at your spouse. Because the next morning, you'll be more distant then you were the night before."

My ex-father-in-law gave me this piece of advice when I was leaving India to head back to Toronto with my ex. The advice was great while it lasted. Too bad my ex was a complete a-hole and couldn't follow his father's advice.

Nonetheless, the advice was good. I use this advice not just when thinking about my bf, but also with my other relationships. By resolving the issue and either coming to an agreement or settling the issue all together before saying goodnight, it doesn't leave a bitter taste in your mouth. It leaves your relationships a little battered, yes. But still healthy enough to resolve the next day. Pain takes a long time to go away. But, at least you know and the person you love or care for knows that you're not pissed off at them 'cause honestly, who knows if you'll wake up the next morning? And if you did wake up, I bet you, the bitterness would last and there would now be no more words to speak.

Powered by Plinky

3 thoughts on “The Best Advice I Ever Received”

  1. The great W.C. Fields had some great advice – he said, “Start each day with a smile, so you can get it over with.”

    I’m not REALLY an angry drunken chain-smoking go-go dancer, I just play one on my blog.

    Well, maybe I AM all those things, come to think of it… 😉

    BTW – Are you still smoking? If you’ve quit, you know I’m gonna try to bring you back over to the dark side, right??

    Like

    1. I figured you weren’t what your blog portrays you to be. Although I did find your blog quite amusing! 🙂

      And no, I haven’t quite yet…..dun dun dun dun!

      But I am seriously considering it. Especially today, when my throat’s so sore!

      Btw, what inspired you about going retro on your blog? I can’t seem to figure out what I should talk about on my blog so I’ve been going to Plinky and looking for topics.

      Like

  2. As a near-legendary figure/cult icon of the 1960s, I felt it was my duty to share some little-known episodes of my life as a star of stage, screen, print, nightclubs, and adult peep shows. When you’ve led a life as extraordinarily fascinating as I have, you naturally want to give a little of yourself back to the community-at-large. Plus, no legit website would touch me.

    As examples, in some upcoming posts, you’ll hear about a gentleman who was so obsessed by me, he had his entire back covered in tattoos of my name (now I’m sorry I gave him a fake name, but I had to be careful). You’ll also see a photo of me as an auto-show spokesmodel, a guest star on the “Batman” TV series, and a rare shot of me at a swingers club orgy.

    Okay – I’ll go out of character for a moment—What should you talk about? Good question. That’s up to you – but I recommend writing about things you have an interest in, that would have at least some reader appeal, and that follow some theme (if only loosely). Even a personal journal is fine, as long as the issues you discuss are things that other readers can relate to.
    Send me an e-mail at retro_roxy@yahoo.com and I’d be glad to help in any way I can!
    Go-go luv from Roxy 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

