If I had known

I came across this a few years ago and I’ve kept it near to me ever since. Life is so hectic for everyone. No one has time to do those little things that we ignore so often, yet mean so much. So, when I feel like I’m just in a constant state of rush, I read this and pause for a second and realize the little things I forgot to say and do for the people I so dearly love.

I hope you enjoy it and after reading it take a few minutes to count the many things that you have missed in your hectic life and try to reconnect and make sure the ones you love know you love them! 🙂

“If I had known it would be the last time that I’d see you fall asleep, I would have tucked you in tighter and prayed the Lord,  your soul to keep. If I had known it would be the last time I’d see you walk out the door, I would have given you a hug and kiss and called you back for one more. If I had known it would be the last time I’d hear your voice lifted up in praise, I would have video taped each action and word, so I could play them back day after day. If I had known it would be the last time I would say I love you, I would have spared an extra minute or two to stop and say I love you, instead of assuming you would know I do. If I had known it would be the last time I would be there to share your day, well, I’m sure you’ll have so many more, so I can let just this one slip away.

For surely there is always tomorrow to make up for an oversight and we always get a second chance to make everything right. There will always be another day to say our, “I love you’s,” and certainly there’s another chance to say our, “Anything I can do’s”.

But just in case I might be wrong and today is all I get, I’d like to say how much I love you and I hope you never forget. Tomorrow is not promised to anyone, young or old alike, and today may be the last chance you get to hold your loved one tight. So, if you’re waiting for tomorrow, why not do it today? For if tomorrow never comes, you’ll surely regret the day, that you didn’t take that extra time for a smile, a hug, or a kiss and you were too busy to grant someone, what turned out to be their one last wish. So always hold them dear. Take time to say I’m sorry, please forgive me, thank you or it’s okay. And if tomorrow never comes, you’ll have no regrets about today.”

Leave a Reply

