How I Got My Name

I was born on November 15th at 4am after 15 excruciating hours of labor. The day I was born was also the Indian/Hindu festival Diwali, also known as Festival of Lights. There was also a strike in the hospitals in Delhi, India during this time and my parent’s weren’t able to get to there when my mother’s water broke. So, she had me at home, at the time, home was my grandparent’s house. My grandmother went to a neighbor to ask for help with the delivery and they also were able to find a mid-wife to assist.

Because of me being born on Diwali my parents immediately named me Laxshmi. Laxshmi is the goddess of wealth and prosperity and it is Laxshmi that is mainly prayed to during the festive season. I was a blessing and my parent’s Diwali gift from the Gods (that’s what they’ve led me to believe, lol).

Soon after that they changed my name to something else. Because I have kept my identity hidden, I will not disclose my real name at this time. However, I will say that it is along the same lines of Laxshmi, it has a holy significance to it.

Powered by Plinky

2 thoughts on “How I Got My Name”

  1. So you are Laxshmi 🙂
    I have also challenge to be born, as my hospital was closed. And it was Friday 13th at 13 🙂 That is why I like No. 13 now and am thanking God for giving me chance to life, although my life was threatened from the beginning.

    Like

    1. Well, my name isn’t Laxshmi. But it was a choice my parents were considering at the time. 🙂
      Wow, Friday the 13th. Amazing. Glad you’re alright though and the life threatening was only at the beginning and you are healthy and safe now.

      Like

Leave a Reply

