Debate over ‘Slut Walk’ in New Delhi and My Two Cents

I’m all for women and their rights. I mean, after all, I am a woman as well. But have you noticed, many women are hypocrites? Women should have equal rights as any man, I totally agree with that. Coming from a conservative country, I am so blessed to be living in Canada where women, to some extent are given equal rights.

BUT…

Women judge women. I have so many girlfriends who’ll see a girl/women walk down the street and call her a slut for the mere reason that the women has chosen to wear exposing clothes. Then on the flip side, these same women pointing fingers, will wear something similar. Like come on! All us women need to get one thing straight, either look at yourself first before pointing a finger or don’t point at all.

Anyway, about the ‘Slut Walk’, I have mixed feelings for it. A women’s body is a gift, it is one of the most beautiful creations. However, partially I feel that “gift” should be for the person you are with and not every Tom, Dick or Harry that walks down the road. Sure, hot temperatures will trigger a woman to wear less clothes. That I’m completely fine with. But to completely expose nearly every inch is going a bit far.

Lets talk about the men that are staring at these women, that are raping, harassing and abusing these women. In countries like India, where men are dominates, the general belief is that men make the rules. I am totally against that, but that’s a totally different conversation in itself. My point is that if men are making the rules, then why can’t they make the rule that women should be treated with respect? That women should be treated the way they want their daughter’s, sister’s and mother’s treated? Why is it that a married man, with daughters and sisters, will go out for a stroll and automatically stare and droll over other men’s wives, daughters and sisters?

As for the Slut Walk itself, good for women! I don’t believe in exposing my body to anyone and everyone and that’s not just because I am overweight, I held this same belief when I was fit and had a sexy body. But if women have want to expose their bodies and not be labelled sluts, then good for them. Mind you, there are limits to everything and so, this too should have some limitations.

2 thoughts on “Debate over ‘Slut Walk’ in New Delhi and My Two Cents”

  1. That’s a brilliant post!

    I hate how Muslim women are called ‘backward’ and ‘oppressed’ just because they choose to cover their bodies! ZT, I invite you to one site that I think you might enjoy – igotitcovered.org. It is essentially a Muslim women’s website, but a great number of our readers are non-Muslim women who appreciate the idea of Hijab for many of the reasons that you (apparently) do.

    Keep up your blogging, your posts are good to read!

    -Mehmudah

    Like

  2. Thanks Mehmudah! I will definitely take a look at the website.
    I appreciate the significance of the Hijab. However, I also believe that women should be given the choice of wanting to wear it or not. It should not be forced on her. I know most women choose to wear it, but there are some that are forced to and I just don’t agree with forcing anyone to do anything. Well, that’s a huge conversation and discussion. 🙂 Maybe I’ll talk about it sometime in one of my posts.

    Thanks,

    ZT

    Like

Leave a Reply

