Karva Chaut is Almost Here

Tomorrow is Karva Chaut and I am super excited. After work today I’m going to get a manicure and pedicure and have my nails nicely polished. After that I’ll go over to my mom’s house and apply henna on my sister-in-law’s hands and feet. Then I’ll come home and apply it on my hands and feet. Once it all dries, I’ll make my sargi (food to have before sunrise).

I’m hoping on Saturday morning, D and I will get engaged. Well, that was initially the plan, but the ring my mom brought back from India for D isn’t what I had expected. So, I’m still deciding whether I can afford to get another ring for him right away or not.

The budget is tight right now, so I’m not sure it will be possible. But we’ll see. Honestly though, I really want to get another ring for him. Something of my choice. I thought the ring my mom was going to bring was the one I sent her a design of. But she didn’t find that design and ended up picking out something else.

It’s not that I’m not thankful for the ring she brought, it’s just not what I had expected to give my husband to be. Everything about this wedding is happening without my input, I’d like to have my choice and decision on this at least.

Anyway, we’ll see what the outcome will be. Right now though, I am ready to announce my marriage to everyone and celebrate Karva Chaut.

Will post pics of my Mehndi soon.

One thought on “Karva Chaut is Almost Here”

Leave a Reply

