Bridal Shower Preperations

I wasn’t involved in the planning of my wedding. I wasn’t even involved in finding the location. And since we’re having a typical Maharashtran wedding, I’m not even allowed to pick out my outfit. The only thing I have been allowed to suggest was the timing for the ceremony.

But I am allowed to plan my bridal shower. So, I’ve picked out a theme and I’ve collected ideas from online. It’ll be a peacock color theme, an afternoon ordeal with snacks, lots of yummy desserts and drinks.

My colleague mentioned that she’d help me figure it all out. I just need to make a list of people who will attend ready. I wonder though, do I invite acquaintances? Do I have women only or men and women? I also have to come up with a menu and figure out the drinks, games, date and location.

Luckily for me, I ordered my shower favors from India and my sweetheart of a mother brought them back with her recently. So, that’s one less I need to worry about.

As for the menu, I’m thinking a variety of but-size sandwiches, cupcakes, cake, cookies and tarts. Maybe we’ll also have a small salad bar. A friend suggested I could also have a candy station as an exit gift to go with my favors.

This weekend I am going to experiment with a couple of desserts. I’m hoping to make cake pops as the idea of cake on a stick sounds so cool to me. Lol. I found this recipe online; which seems simple enough for a newbie like me.

This recipe makes 45-50 cake pops.

Ingredients:
1 box cake mix
1 can frosting (16 oz.)
Wax paper
Lollipop sticks
Edible ink pens
Candy melts of your choice (I’ll be using chocolate)

Cook the cake according to the box instructions and cool completely. Once cooled, crumble into a bowl. Mix the frosting thoroughly into the cake crumbs.After cake is cooked and cooled completely, crumble into large bowl. Next, roll the mixture with your hands into small balls and place them on a wax paper covered cookie sheet.

Melt the chocolate in the microwave as the directions on the packaging will state and stir in between. Next, dip the lollipop sticks into the chocolate and insert into the cake balls. This will secure the balls on the sticks.

You can use an old shoebox assuming its clean or on a styrofoam block. Stick them in the freezer so they are nice and firm. Once firm, dip each cake ball into the candy coating. Make sure to rotate the cake balls do they are evenly covered with candy. Now place them back on the styrofoam block and let dry for 20-30 minutes. After the candy has dried you can decorate as you like.

I’ll be making mine this weekend and will post the photos of them then. If you’ve made cake pops, do share your tricks, suggestions, recipes and decoration ideas!

One thought on “Bridal Shower Preperations”

Leave a Reply

