Frustration. RE: Stolen Images

I know the world wide web has millions of free images available to all of you to use and then there are the ones that strictly state that their are copyright laws involved. There are also those images that people allow others use their images with the intention to link back to the source. However, many people forget to do this.

First, they Google an image, they go to the site and save the image and then they post it in their blog posts or on their site; without the slightest of concern that someone else has put in effort to make a unique image strictly for their own content.

Here’s an example of that. This person took this image either from my site or Google’d “No to Valentine’s Day” and found this image I made. Then they posted it on their site without even a hint of concern to reference the images source. Although, often I take images from Google or other websites, I try my best to ensure I reference the source of the image every time.

It just frustrates me that even though my website has a strict disclaimer (see below), people would still be so inconsiderate and take an image from my site and post it on theirs without a link back.

  • Copyright © ZiddiTamana, 2009-2012

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and owner, Serene is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Serene/Tamana and ZiddiTamana with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Great way to start off a Monday morning, huh? Sigh! People and their inconsiderate, unprofessional behavior sometimes gets the best of me. I just wish people would consider that other people have put time and effort into creating a unique image/product and appreciate that it’s available on the web for free by linking back to the source.

Anyway, lovies, that’s the end of my vent.

Hope your Monday starts off better than mine just did. 🙂

Cheers!

5 thoughts on “Frustration. RE: Stolen Images”

  1. Assalamualikum….

    You should have added ‘copyright’ in to your image.. I wont have bother to take that image.

    I feel one shouldn’t use the word ‘copyright’ for any Islamic related posts, articles or images whatever….

    U know what, someone was using the Quran and Hadith images I used to design…I got them back as msgs… along with updations… someone edited those images, removed my links and added their owns!!!!
    not one image, but manyyyy…
    what would u say to this…??
    lol…guess u would have written a dozen articles…just as u did above…

    u know what… I ignored it…coz I felt alteast these images are reaching to great number of people…

    well…m sorry for using that copyrighted image…I would remove it soon…INshAllah!

    And yes, Thanks for adding my link on to your post, I would love to get more readers to my article… 🙂

    Like

    1. I have no problem with people using my images I just would appreciate being credited for my work. If you look at the footer of my site you will see a copyright disclaimer. You dont have to remove the image, just give proper credit where due.

      Like

  2. Thank you for this post. I’d guess that most people just don’t know the accepted code of photo usage. If an image has a watermark through the photo, that communicates to me ‘don’t use this image without purchasing it.’ Otherwise, I’d guess it’s appropriate to always cite the original source of the photo. But, do you always send the blog author an email requesting to use a photo from their site? I don’t know. Now I’ll think twice about that. Thanks again.

    Like

    1. I don’t send the author an email every time I use an image from their site. However, I do ensure that I put the source of the image (ex. Site name or URL) in the caption or somewhere in my post.

      I’m glad to see that others have a similar thought as I do. Clearly, this person does not and didn’t understand why I was upset for not being credited for my work.

      Like

Leave a Reply

