Valentine’s Day is Ahead of Us


pimp myspace

It’s that time of year again, when hundreds of retailers and manufacturers exploit the public into purchasing overly prices romantic gifts. Yes, it’s Valentine’s Day tomorrow and I am not stepping back on the statement I made a year ago! Say NO to Valentine’s Day!

Don’t get me wrong, I am once those super-duper, crazy, gushy romantics that people want to barf over. But I DO NOT believe in the commercialization of this holiday or any other for that matter. The significance of the holiday is generally lost in all the ads, flyers and promotions in trying to make a buck at the cost of helpless romantics. Don’t those manufacturers and retailers get it yet? Matter of fact, don’t we as the consumers get it???

I mean really, $69.99 for a dozen roses to be delivered to my beloved on February 14th, plus an extra $20 delivery charge? Where as any other day of any other month those same roses would cost me $30.99 and maybe $10 delivery. Seriously? What the heck are they thinking! And all those fools that so easily fall for it is pathetic.

Sure, I’d love to get roses at work. Sure, I’d love to send roses to D’s work. Sure, I’d love to go out for an awesome romantic dinner and get chocolates and be showered in other expensive gifts. But I would love all those things any day of the year. Why must we just leave all the romance to this one day? And why must we, women, put men through the agony of living up to what the media world and retail industry has summed up this day to?

Romance is a gift that we should be giving all year-long, not just on one special day. I know last year, on of my readers mentioned that after being married for so many years, she welcomed this one special day to be wined and dined beyond expectations. I understand that. I totally get it. But still, should Mr. Romance and Ms. Romance be doing all this throughout the year anyway? I mean, shouldn’t they be going out of their way every day and making sure that you feel beyond loved every single day of your life?

Don’t get me wrong, I will be celebrating Valentine’s Day tomorrow with my sweetheart and we will do something absolutely romantic. He’ll probably even get me a small gift (three roses), but he we do things like that all the time. He gets me roses every month or so. We have our absolutely romantic evenings and days every couple of weeks. Tomorrow will be no exception!

So, to all of you celebrating the lover’s day tomorrow, I hope you enjoy it and I hope you spend it with someone who loves you dearly and shows you how much they love you and how much you mean to them, not just tomorrow but every day of the year!

Happy Valentine’s Day, Lovies!

One thought on “Valentine’s Day is Ahead of Us”

Leave a Reply

