On April 2nd, 2012 My Life Changed Forever

When I arrived from India on March 29th, I thought the excursion from the wedding was taking its toll on me. Friday morning at the doctors office I was recommended to get a couple of blood tests done to ensure I wasn’t 1. pregnant 2. dealing with something other than a bacterial infection and 3. that my iron deficiency wasn’t back. I was overly exhausted all weekend after the tests and could barely keep my eyes open for even an hour.

I returned to work on Monday morning at 8am. My colleagues welcomed me with questions and excitement to see my wedding photos. But then the call came at 10:45am. It was the call that would change who I am and everything in my life forever. It was the receptionist from the doctors office telling me that I was positive. “Positive for what?” I asked. “You are pregnant my dear and you need to come have a follow-up with the doc so he can refer you to a gynecologist.” What? Oh-my-gawd!

I hung up the phone after making a follow-up appointment and quickly called D. He was on the subway between tunnels and managed to answer my call. I told him that he was going to be a father and he had the same reaction as me, “Oh-my-god” and then the phone shut off. I didn’t get to speak to him until nearly 4pm after that.

We’re both so very excited. We’ve told our families and they too are quite excited. But the funny thing is is that we were pregnant at the wedding. Lol. Hopefully, everyone won’t figure it out. 🙂 So, here’s a follow-up secret to all of this, D and I actually got civilly married here in Toronto last August without letting our families know at the time. So, technically, we were married when we conceived.

Last Wednesday was our first ultra-sound appointment and we got to see our little bundle of joy for the first time. We’ve been told that everything seems normal for now. But we’ll get the full results of my blood work and ultra-sound on May 17th when we visit the OB next.

Our little angel will arrive by November 1st, 2012 and we are both so super excited to be sharing this news with all of you. 🙂 I thought I’d finally share why I’ve been so miserably sick and unable to write. I haven’t announced it on Facebook or to all my friends, really only our immediate families know and of course all of you! But we’re hoping to announce it in a couple of weeks to friends and other family once we find out the gender of our little bundle of joy.

Will keep you posted on how things are progressing!

p.s if you know me outside of this blog then please do not post anything to Facebook or anywhere publicly as we have chosen not to announce it officially to everyone just yet.

2 thoughts on “On April 2nd, 2012 My Life Changed Forever”

Leave a Reply

