The Beginning of the Rest of My Life

I’ve spent the last few weeks thinking of abandoning my blog all together. I’ve thought about what keeps me updating this blog. I’ve thought about the changes that are happening in my life and where my blog fits in. I’ve thought about the promises I’ve made to my readers and not been able to keep them.

I’ve done a lot of thinking over the past few weeks.

And the answer to all my questions is that I love to write. Yes, writing has been my passion since I was in grade 2 when my first short story was published and sent to the parliament building in Ottawa, ON for a display on children’s writings from across Canada. When those days passed, I became a journal writer, keeping each experience and thought written, as to capture my life into the pages of my notebook. When love and friendship, even family relations seemed to be on a roller-coaster ride, my writing was my support to get through the tough days and appreciate the good days. Yes, I captured my life in poetry and scribbled notes.

When all else failed, I began this blog nearly 2.5 years ago. Originally, it was supposed to be a private blog for me to express the hell I was experiencing at the time. But then people found it and began reading it. Random people, strangers began commenting and sharing their experiences with me and providing their assistance through suggestions. They became my friends and read my blog almost religiously. I enjoyed living in the blogosphere as an anonymous person and chatting with all these different people from across the world.

Maybe I took it all for granted and just got lazy. Maybe I forgot that people actually subscribe to my blog and wait to see an update from me. Maybe I got so self-involved in the things happening in my life that I forgot to share those happenings with all of you. And so, I was stuck in a place where I didn’t know if any of those people who became my friends were still reading this blog or not. I didn’t know if I should continue to give updates and posts and if it’ll ever get read or not.

But at the end of the day, I came to this little conclusion…if the writing is good, the readers will come. So, I am keeping my blog open with the hopes that I can win back my readers and open up the door of conversation again.

I love to write and even if I’m not providing exceptionally helpful content, I am sharing my experiences in life and that is what this blog is all about: sharing life’s experiences with the world. I hope you will all come back and share your life with me as well.

So, today we start over….

Welcome to the beginning of the rest of my life!

Tamana~

11 thoughts on “The Beginning of the Rest of My Life”

  1. Welcome back Tamana. I just started following you recently and I had no idea you were contemplating giving the blog up. I’m glad you’re staying…….cuz I’m looking forward to reading about your experiences in life. KUDOS!

    Like

      1. Btw, I’ve read your blog…you’re an awesome writer and I’d love to refresh my blog-roll and add your blog in, if that’s ok?

        Like

      2. My gosh! I’d be honoured. I don’t see myself as an awesome writer. Actually, I’d love to edit or re-write most posts…..! Unfortunately, that would be painstaking. LOL

        Like

      3. You’ve been added! 🙂
        I find you to be a good writer. You express yourself well and I especially enjoyed your “about me” page. You have a keen way of grabbing someones attention.
        Also, we all write and we all feel our writing is never good enough. For heaven’ sake, take a look at my writing. But at the end of the day, it’s about our readers and if they’ve enjoyed it and come back for more, then there’s something you’re definitely doing write. So don’t change a thing! 🙂

        Like

      4. My “About Me” page is the one I would like to rewrite the most. The grammar and writing style is atrocious…..or so I think! LOL
        Maybe I’ll just edit it a bit……..;)
        Thanks for the compliments. Funny how we’re so hard on ourselves eh?
        I’m truly enjoying your blog and am really glad you’ll be continuing with posts. 🙂

        Like

  2. You go girl!! You are so right on. You can start over at any time! It is never too late. And yes, the people who followed you DO want to see you write. That’s why they followed you (ok, well most of them, some just want you to follow back, but that’s another story). I’m so happy you decided to keep it up.

    Like

Leave a Reply

