Maternity Leave

Day 1 of maternity leave consisted of having a follow up appointment with my diabetes doctor and being instructed to take insulin before dinner. It was a hard decision that I have been struggling with for the past week. But after all the nervousness and fear I had with sticking a needle in my stomach every day was all removed once the intern at the hospital told me all the benefits of making sure my blood sugar levels were normal.

My angel has not even arrived yet and already I am making health decisions to limit her chances of diabetes in her 40s and 50s and secure her chances of being a healthy weight when she is ready to arrive.

I was a bit a scared and nervous with injecting myself with a needle every day, but the more I think about my angel the more I realize I have to do what’s best for her. And honestly, it hasn’t been too bad so far!

Leave a Reply

