Getting Hair Ready For The Holidays

20121220-124224.jpg

With winter in full-go and the holidays near, I’m noticing that my hairs seems to look dull, dry, damaged and over-processed. So, I’m treating my hair to a no-process day. I’m going to treat my hair to luxury of oil and deep conditioning today! Here’s what I’m doing to get my hair looking revived, shinny and healthy again.

I’ve mixed extra virgin olive oil and peppermint extract together in a small bowl and heated it in the microwave for 10 seconds. Then I’ll massage it on to my scalp and work my way through to the ends of my hair. I’ll cover my hair with a wet towel slightly warm and leave my hair wrapped in it.Once the towel cools off I’ll take it off and just leave the oil in my hair. The olive oil provides nourishment and will help moisturize the hair, while the peppermint oil helps open up the hair folicols and stimulate hair growth.

Once I’m ready to wash my hair, I’ll take a raw egg, beat it slightly and then apply it to my hair. It’s recommended to leave it in for at least 20 minutes and then shampoo. The egg will bring moisture and shine to the hair. After shampooing it, make sure to leave your conditioner on for a few minutes before rinsing and make sure to rinse with cold water. Cold water closes the pores and adds shine to hair.

Nowadays, that I don’t have much time with Ni keeping me extra busy, I do this once a week and it still works wonders on my hair. If you have the time, try doing this a couple of times a week. You can also leave the olive oil and peppermint oil overnight and then wash as normal in the morning. It is said in India that the more oil you apply to your hair and the longer you leave it in, the healthier your hair will be.

Do try it and let me know how your hair feels and looks and do share your home remedies with me! I love trying new, inexpensive treatments!

Happy Holidays and Beautiful Hair!

Leave a Reply

