Kicking Off My First New Year’s Resolution

I’ve enrolled with the Independent Learning Centre for my first course! I’m super excited to be starting it in the next couple of weeks. I’m taking English – University Prep. I think it’s going to be a bit weird taking English and writing essays and assignments after all these years. But I’m excited and anxious and have enough faith in myself and I know I won’t let myself down. After all, this is something I have wanted to do for a very long time and now that I have the time (being on mat-leave and all), I’m really hoping that while Ni’s asleep I’ll be able to get it done.

Apparently, there are four units per course and in order to move onto the next unit, you have to complete the first and get your marks by submitting your assignments online. After reading the FAQs online, it appears that it generally takes a couple of weeks to complete each unit. Of course, that also depends on the amount of time you allocate per unit. The good thing is that you get one full year to complete each course. I’m hoping it won’t take me a full year to complete this first course, especially so that I can take a second course before my mat-leave is over.

Also, I found out that I can enroll in my second course as soon as my first unit of the first course is marked and sent back to me. I’m hoping I can handle taking two courses at one time. But I’ll have to see how much the workload of the first course is before I take on a second one. Plus, I have Ni to look after too and most of my day goes by taking care of her. But D has offered to help with her as much as he can so that I can get my assignments done.

I’m really anxious to get this started. I’ll let you all know once the course material arrives and I begin the course. I’m just so happy that I finally submitted the application and will begin it soon!

Until then, have a fabulous weekend. Xoxo

Leave a Reply

