Recipe of the Week: Easy Sugar Cookie Recipe

20130213-013043.jpg

I’ve been in the baking mood these days and today I actually had enough energy to do it. Plus, we ran out of cookies at home and D has nothing to eat with his morning tea. So, I decided to bake him some cookies from scratch. Normally, I just get the Pillsbury premixed cookie dough that you separate and toss on a cookie sheet. But we ran out of that too and luckily for me, I had some flour and eggs at home. Here’s my easy sugar cookie recipe. It’s fool-proof! Trust me, if I can make them and succeed, the a my one can make them.

Here’s the recipe:

Ingredients:
1¾ cups sifted All-purpose flour
1 cup sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup softened unsalted butter
1 egg

Directions:
Mix sugar, vanilla and flour together and then add the egg. I hand nested the mixture to get the smooth consistency needed to roll it out on the counter. Make sure to put some flour on the counter before rolling it out.

After its rolled out, cut with desired cookie cutters and lay on a cookie sheet. If you’re like me and don’t have parchment paper, then just butter or grease the cookie sheet before putting the cookie dough on it. Put sprinkles on dough before putting in the oven.

Preheat oven to 350 °F and bake for 12-15 minutes or bake until golden brown on the edges. Let cool completely (15-20 minutes) and them gently smooth on icing or enjoy as is.

Do tell me how they turned out! D was so happy and they tasted great; he ended up making a cup of tea after dinner just so he could dip them in it. He ended up eating nearly half of them and has requested them weekly. (Score for me and my experiment!)

Bon appetit!

2 thoughts on “Recipe of the Week: Easy Sugar Cookie Recipe”

Leave a Reply

