Say YES To Valentine’s Day

A couple of years ago, I wrote a post; Say NO To Valentine’s Day. At the time, I thought of Valentine’s Day being a commercial holiday for manufacturers and retailers to cash-in on love-crazed couples. I didn’t think it was a valid holiday and was just a day for the big boys to make hundreds of thousands of dollars.

One of my readers, Theresa left me the following comment:

Unfortunately the commercialization is evident with almost every holiday, just the fact that stores begin stocking & preparing well before the previous holiday hits is crazy.

I’m a bit older than you…I spent 8 years in a crappy, often abusive marriage. I recently celebrated 9 years of a marriage with a man who is my best friend. Whether it’s my age or the length of time I’ve been married I don’t know, but I do appreciate Valentine’s Day and all the romantic stuff associated with it. My husband & I say ‘I love you’ every day, we have snuggle time, we make time for dates…I suppose for me it’s a day for a little extra specialness

After being married and having a baby, I now realize what Theresa meant. Although, D and I do special things for each other every day, it’s still important to have that day to feel extra special. With all the havoc of daily lives and routines, romance sometimes needs a little more importance and what better way to indulge in it than on Valentine’s Day when the rest of the world is celebrating too!

Although, D didn’t really plan anything special for our day, I surprised him with a romantic candlelight dinner at home. I made roasted chicken, veggies, potatoes and bought wine for the evening. I even lit candles all through the house. Ni spent the even with my parents , so that after dinner, D and I could go for a nice long drive. Here’s some pictures of our dinner arrangements (courtesy of moi)!

20130220-093218.jpg

20130220-093208.jpg

He was really surprised when he walked into the house and saw candles all over the place and I really enjoyed getting all dressed up and sitting with and having dinner. We even danced in each-other’s arms for a while before heading out. It was truly an amazing night and it rekindled our love all over again.

So, as I said I few years ago, it really isn’t important to buy big fancy, expensive gifts; what matters is how you feel and how you make your loved one feel. That’s what Valentine’s Day is really all about.

Happy belated Valentine’s Day, lovies!

4 thoughts on “Say YES To Valentine’s Day”

Leave a Reply

