The Most Dreaded Post Of The Year: My New Year’s Resolutions

Although 5 days late in writing this, I am still dreading it with every word I type. I hate New Years resolutions. They are unrealistic, cause anxiety and 99% of the time none of us keep them. So really, why bother?

I bother to write down my yearly resolutions because it gives me something to work towards. Whether I achieve them or not, on days when all else is lost, I look back at the post about my New Year’s resolutions and try to work on them again. Like everyone else, I too make ridiculous resolutions, like I’ll save x amount of money, or lose x amount of weight, eat healthier or cut a certain “bad food” out of my diet. And like everyone else, February comes and those resolutions are long forgotten.

So this year, I’m making much wiser resolutions that I know I’ll be able to keep. In the back of my mind, I still want to lose 50+ pounds and save at least $5000 this year. But life happens and those goals aren’t always achievable. I mean, look at my November and December of 2013. Life was hell. So although, I have those never-forgotten goals in the back of my head, I have new goals that are a bit easier to achieve and aren’t completely unreasonable when life hands you lemons.

Without much a dew, here is my list of New Year’s resolutions for 2014:

1. Drink less coke. I am a junkie for coke (ahem, I mean coca-cola, not coke-coke). I love it. It’s my go-to drink. But the hundreds of calories, topped with all that sugar I know I’m doing a lot of harm to my body. Let’s be reasonable for a minute, if you can pour coke in your toilet and leave it overnight and wake up to a sparkling toilet, you know there’s gotta be something wrong with it. Although, I can’t cut coke out of my life completely, I have found a substitute; MiO water enhancer and SanPellagrino’s flavoured sparkling water. Both taste delicious and don’t have all the junk coke has in it. (Sorry coca-cola for the bad talk, I do love you guys, your product’s just making me fat and I could do without the extra weight-gain) I’ll still have my coke but not as often as I used to. Maybe I’ll try cutting down to just once a week or when I eat at a sit-down restaurant.

2. Write more product reviews. If you read my blog over the holidays, you know I did a couple of product/app reviews. I really enjoyed that. I got to try out some fantastic products and some of you enjoyed it too. This year, I’d like to write many more reviews about products we’re using daily, as well as some specialty products as I hear about them. Hopefully, I can get some brands to start providing products to me to write reviews about, so I’m not always dishing out cash out of my own pocket. Plus, it would be nice to be able to try and review a product before it’s out on the shelves and provide all of you with insight.

3. Pack my lunch 4 times a week. Can you imagine how much money I spend every week on coffee from Tim’s, then lunch, sometimes even an afternoon coffee? It really adds up. I cannot compromise my breakfast x-large coffee from Tim’s. That is completely out of the discussion. But I can pack my own lunch and save money there. I cook dinner every night for us, so why not cook a little extra and bring it the next day for lunch. Since colleagues and friends like to go out for lunch once-in-a-while, I’ll happily go out with them only once a week. Most of the time, I end up eating at my desk and working through my lunch anyway; which brings me to my next point.

4. Stop eating at my desk and unplug for 30 minutes. I am one of the many that eat, work and surf the web through their lunch. In my whole 8 hour shift, I never unplug. I am constantly at my desk, typing or clicking away. Never a minute to just turn all devices off and enjoy my hour that is supposed to be a “break!” This year however, when lunch time comes, I am eating my lunch in the beautiful lounge our office has and then heading out for a walk to get some fresh air. That’ll be the perfect de-stressor for the craziness that is when working at a media company.

4. Go for more walks. If you know me personally, you know I don’t walk nearly as much as I should. I have a car, so what’s the point? Right? Wrong! Two years ago when I used to walk every evening for an hour or so, I always felt fresh, less stressed and lost weight in the process. Ever since I stopped, I feel more tired, frustrated and yes, I’ve gained a lot of weight. This year though, I have Ni with me and I know she needs to be out in the fresh air instead of being cooped up in the house all day, so I’ll be taking her out for many more walks than I did last year. It’ll be good for both of us and if I lose weight while doing it, that’s just the icing on the cake.

5. Lose weight. Be healthier. I kept the hardest for last. It’s my most sensitive, never-ending battle. I want to lose weight. I want to lose 50+ pounds. I want to lose it before the summer. That’s my goal year-after-year. But guess what, I’ve never accomplished it. I think my problem was that I had a set amount and date in mind. I never just said I want to lose weight. Even if it was only 5 lbs. that would mean I was 5 lbs. lighter. 5 lbs. closer to being healthier. So this time around, I am not keeping a target date or amount and am just telling myself, I want to lose weight. I want to be healthier. I want to not huff and puff walking up a flight of stairs or after chasing Ni down the hall.

Those are my resolutions this year. Did you make a list of your own? Share them with me! I’d love to see what everyone plans to achieve this year.

Good luck with yours and wish me luck with mine! Ready. Set. Go!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

