Recipe of the Week: Spiced, Pan-Fried Tilapia

I’m not a fish lover. Matter-of-fact, I rarely ever eat fish. Matter-of-fact, I only actually started eating fish a couple of years ago, after meeting Dev. Dev’s culture loves fish. After all, he’s from the west-coast of India and fish is considered an every-day part of life; whereas, in Delhi, it’s more of a delicacy.

In my family, we rarely make fish or shrimp and forget about any other types of seafood. But on my trip to Goa, India back in 2012, Dev forced me into trying “rava-fried fish”. It was terrible. Semolina (rava)-coated fish completely disrupted my taste buds. However, Dev loved it and still does. And when you’re married to man that loves fish, you learn to somewhat like it too. You just have to get the right recipe and fish to actually consider it edible.

I’ve tried salmon and it’s horrid. I don’t mind tune, but only in my sandwich or casserole. And most recently, I tried tilapia. The tilapia was quite mild and didn’t have an odor to it. Plus, it defrosted and cooked quickly; which was a plus, plus for me! And the best thing, my apartment didn’t stink of fried fish for hours after the fact. Here’s my rava-pan-friend tilapia recipe. It’s quick and easy and absolutely delicious!

Here’s what you need:

  • 1 tsp. curry powder
  • 1 tsp. ginger powder or ginger paste
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. paprika
  • 1 tsp. garam masala
  • 1 tsp. coriander powder
  • 1 tsp. turmeric powder
  • 1 cup rava (semolina)
  • 1 tsp. lemon juice
  • Vegetable oil to pan-fry
  • 4-6 slices of Tilapia

Here’s what you do:

Wash tilapia with lemon juice and water. In a plastic container, add spices and ginger paste. Mix well, coat each slice of tilapia with marinade. Cover and place in fridge for 1 hour. When ready to cook, heat oil and place pieces of fish without layering them. Cook until golden brown and crisp.

Serve with onion slices and a slice of lemon!

Related Articles:

Leave a Reply

