Excited For Christmas Dinner

I’m a sucker for Christmas. It’s not in my religious upbringing to celebrate Christmas. But when you live away from your birth country all your life, a bit of your own traditions merge with a bit of the traditions of the country you live in. How can you not celebrate, when everyone around you is celebrating?

For me, I love hosting parties and dinners. I love people coming over to our place and sharing in our happiness and joys. I’d rather be the hostess than the guest. So, every year around this time, I try to get a few of the people who are nearest and dearest to us to come together and share a meal, lots of laughs and happiness with us. This year, we’re doing it on Christmas day. Yay!

I’ve been working on a menu for the big day for some time and I think I’ve just about nailed it. Hopefully, everyone enjoys it just as much as I enjoy making it. Here’s my menu (recipes and pictures pending):

Appetizers/Welcome Drinks:

  • Mimosa (Orange juice and champagne)
  • Garlic shrimp bites

Main Course:

  • Cesar salad
  • Sweet corn kernels and steamed veggies
  • Baked chicken (I’m still debating between stuffed spinach/feta chicken or honey-glazed chicken)
  • Scalloped potatoes
  • Stuffing
  • Cheesy, pull-apart bread
  • garlic and herb roasted potatoes

Dessert:

  • Double chocolate cake stuffed with dulce de leche, served with vanilla ice cream
  • Apple crumble with vanilla ice cream

I’ll post pictures and recipes as soon as I can. Stay tuned and have yourself a very Merry Christmas.

Leave a Reply

