The Beginning Of A New Year

365 blank days. 365 days to do something different, something new. Take on more responsibilities. Begin new experiences. Set new goals and dreams.

2014 hasn’t been the best of years for me. Actually, it sucked! The ice storm early in the year set its stage for lots of issues to come. Then the bed bug problems completely destroyed our home and messed up our lives. Ni’s constant fevers tampered with our emotions and strength to try everything in our power to get her better. Then what felt like a year full of health problems for me; which took a toll on my relationship with D and my job. And if all of that wasn’t enough, on the very last day of the year, a friend and colleague lost her battle with cancer and moved on to a better place (Rest in Peace Trish, you’ll be dearly missed).

2014 was a terrible year. I don’t want to look back on that year. Yes, there were some good times as well; like when Ni went to Wild Water Kingdom the first time, D became his own boss and Ni’s birthday party. But the bad days out weight the good ones by plenty.

So, I wholeheartedly welcome 2015 and the beginning of a new chapter in our lives. I have so many hopes for this new year. I want to grow professionally and take on more challenges and responsibilities. I want to eventually move to a home closer to downtown to cut our travel time. I want to travel somewhere nice and spend a few weekends away cottaging up north. But mostly, I want to forget what 2014 was and leap into 2015 with a big smile and open mind.

I’m not setting new year’s resolutions. But I am entering this year openly to anything it might throw at me.

What are you looking forward to accomplishing in 2015? Share your thoughts, hopes and dreams with me.

Leave a Reply

