Mom-In-Training: Beginning Potty Training

Ni is over 2 years old now and I am ready to begin potty training her. She’s showing interest in wanting to use the washroom and let’s me know after she’s gone potty. I just need to get her to begin telling me before she goes in her diaper

In less than six months, she will be moving over to pre-school and I know they’ll train her there. But I want to get her started before she reaches there. Beginning pre-school will be a new challenge of itself, new kids, new teachers, new environment and then the added stress of learning to use the potty might be too much for her to deal with all at once.

So, we’re pulling out her trainer potty and are starting her off with sitting on it first and then eventually begin using it. I know my little Ni is a quick learner, I just hope she isn’t petrified of the experience, like she was once when I put her on the toilet. She screamed and cried thinking she would fall in. But she had insisted I put her on it in the first place. Hopefully, using the little potty is a better experience than the big one.

Do you have children? Are they potty-trained? Share your insights with me and suggestions on how you handled this big milestone. All pointers and tips are greatly appreciated.

Leave a Reply

