Sometimes Letting Go Is The Only Option

People come into our lives all the time. Sometimes they stay for a little while and leave. Sometimes they stay for a long while and leave a footprint on our hearts. Then there are people that come into our lives who you think you’ll know forever because you automatically hit if off; connected with them in a way you haven’t connected with anyone else before and then they suddenly depart. It leaves you searching for answers and looking for reasoning. You cannot come to terms with the fact that this person has departed your life without even as much as a goodbye. Days pass by. Weeks pass by. Even months pass by. You try your hardest to reach out to them, but they don’t respond.

Then there comes the hard decision to delete them from your social media accounts and close their chapter in your life for good. Clearly they are not responding because they have moved on. Shouldn’t you do the same?

For me, letting go of someone I considered such a great friend is extremely difficult. Over the past 8 months, day-by-day I have lost a little bit more of my friend to the point where I don’t think people would even consider us friends anymore. But I did still consider her to be my friend, that is until this morning when I took the decision to “unfriend” her off Facebook. It was an extremely hard decision but one that needed to be done.

I only allow access to people on Facebook if they are active in my life and/or a relative I care enough about to continue to keep in touch with them. When I first opened my Facebook account, I had over 1000 “friends” on it. As the years passed by, I realized I wasn’t going to speak to nearly 900 of these people ever in my life again and if that was the case, they didn’t need to know what was going on in my personal life and vice-verse. I learned this a long time ago – the more people you interact with from your past, the more drama its going to cause. So, for the last couple of years, I’ve done an annual clean-up and purge of my Facebook contacts, keeping only a select bunch that truly matter.

This is why it was so hard for me to delete her from Facebook.

For the past 4 years of my life, during some of the biggest moments of my life, she was there. She supported me. She celebrated me. She was my shoulder. She was my big sister. She was my mentor at work. And now she’s gone. I don’t know what went wrong and why. I guess it is what it is and I should suck it up and move on. It just hurts me and makes me sad that she recently celebrated one of the biggest things in her life and I was nowhere near part of it the way she was for me during my time.

I wonder if she’ll ever look back at the last 4 years and remember the crazy, funny, amazing times we had. If she does and recalls my blog, she’ll stumble upon this post and realize its about her and when she does, I want her to know that I am thankful for everything she did for me over the past 4 years. I’m thankful for the friend she was and grateful to have met her. I will miss her and never forget her. I wish her happiness, health and love for all her life. And if our paths ever were to cross again, I hope we can meet the way we were before today.

One thought on “Sometimes Letting Go Is The Only Option”

Leave a Reply

