I’m Being Selfish and That’s Okay By Me

5 days off work. 4 days out of the city. 4 days child-free. First vacation in over 2 years! I don’t care how the weather is. I don’t care if I’ll be broke after this mini-vacation or not. I don’t care that I’ll miss my little Ni. I’m going away and that’s all that matters.

Am I being selfish? Definitely. But I am only human and I deserve me time (even if it involves being with 9 other people). I cook dinner every night after finishing an 8 hour shift at work. Count the 45 minutes drive in and out and that’s 9.5 hours. Count the waking up at 5 am and that’s another 3 hours. Come home, pick up Ni, tidy up before she gets home, pick up groceries and run errands on my way home. When she’s finally home, change her clothes, feed her, entertain her and then put her to sleep. Wash the dishes, tidy up again and then heat dinner up for the hubby. By the time my day is done, it’s almost midnight. Survive on less than 5 hours sleep but never complain.

Yes, I’m being selfish and I don’t care who wants to judge me. Being a mom is a blessing. But it’s also exhausting. And if I want to be the best mom I can possibly be to Ni, I have to be selfish at times and this weekend I will be exactly that.

We’ve booked 2 cottage condos in Blue Mountain for 2 nights and there will be heavy drinking involved. It’s the first vacation D and I will have since Ni was born and it’s a well-deserved one. 

So, my lovelies, I will be MIA for a few days. But watch me on Instagram because I promise to be posting on there. I’ll add photos and a notes when I return on here, so wait for me!

Have an amazing long-weekend and Victoria Day! Xoxo

Leave a Reply

