10K Steps Daily Towards A Healthier Future

As you all know, for the longest time, I’ve been on a journey to lose weight. I’ve tried diets, I’ve tried adjusting my eating habits, I’ve even cut out many foods from my diet. But I haven’t lost any weight. The problem is, I love food. I enjoy eating. Not over-eating. But I enjoy a good meal. I like my steaks, I love all-day breakfasts, I like rice and I like cheese and when you’re a foodie, you eat and you don’t skimp out on your meals. But that also means, you don’t lose weight. So, everything I’ve tried to lose weight, clearly hasn’t been working. With my depression and constant emotional roller-coaster, I indulge and have many set-backs.

So, cutting out food is not an option for me. Let’s face it, I love to eat. But that doesn’t mean I still can’t lose weight. My iPhone health app allows me to track how many steps I take each day. So, I’ve watched my steps. According to the Canadian Health Guide, by taking at least 10,000 steps a day you promote a healthy future for yourself. I think, since I’ve started counting my steps, I’ve only hit 10K steps twice. But I’ve gotten close many times. Taking a little stroll during lunch-time may have gotten me closer to that 10K mark; had I not been lazy.

I’ve decided to work on losing weight through walking. Walking at a faster pace than I normally would and hitting at 10K steps per day, is sure to help me lose between 1/2-1 lbs. a week; which sounds like nothing but actually adds up to about 4 lbs. a month and 12 lbs. a year. I know, it’s still not much. But if I can limit my sugar in-take, avoid Coca-Cola then I am sure those 1/2-1 lbs. per week could potentially turn into 2-3 lbs. a week.

I don’t want to lose weight fast. I mean, I do but I want it to be healthy weight-loss and sustainable. So, I’m taking the long-route, the one that promotes a healthy lifestyle and “hopefully” permanent weight-loss.

Leave a Reply

