The Resignation: It’s Time To Move On

Quiet!After giving seven years of my life to the same employer, last Friday, I resigned. It was an extremely difficult but exciting task to do, but one that was long overdue.

I loved working here. It was one of the best companies I had worked for and I met so many amazing people. I used to be very happy with where my career was going and colleagues.

There used to be an adrenaline that came with working in the media industry. You were constantly tackling new things; you were always on your toes. You dealt with different departments, people and levels of seniority. It was constant go, go, go. I loved it. No day was the same. No two tasks were alike. It was exciting and you felt like you were part of the bigger picture.

A year ago, everything changed, drastically. The company I had grown to love, had changed. Some of the people I worked so closely with, had changed. The laid-back atmosphere I had grown comfortable with, had changed. I won’t say I was completely unhappy, because that would be a lie.

I started feeling lost. I had no sense of direction. I didn’t feel like I was part of the overall goals. Yes, I was tackling the day-to-day but it all felt meaningless; which stemmed my need to grow and venture out. I wanted to stay with this company, but the opportunities weren’t there.

With one more week to go, I am tying loose ends, closing tasks out and saying my goodbyes slowly. This company gave me a good seven-year run. It was exciting and very educational while it lasted. But it’s time to close this chapter and move on.

3 thoughts on “The Resignation: It’s Time To Move On”

Leave a Reply

