Restaurant Diaries: Shaw Cafe & Wine Bar

  Situated in the heart of Niagara-on-the-lake, the Shaw Cafe & Wine Bar is a stunning restaurant and is everything it looks to be. Beautiful interior and exterior seating, with a stunning rooftop balcony surrounded by gorgeous flowers. 

   
I was a little weary on having lunch here because it was exceptionally crowded and there was a wait time of 10-15 minutes for a table, but I am so glad my foodie-enthusiastic friend insisted we have lunch here. 

 
The atmosphere was stunning, like a little French cafe in a small town in Europe. It was the cutest place I’ve had lunch in and the food was exceptional. 

  
We started our lunch with a Hernder Reisling wine. That’s my foodie friend, Hari. He wanted to be featured on my blog as my regular food-mule. The wine was perfectly chilled and priced conveniently. 

 

I had the hot beef on an onion baguette with onion rings. The onion rings were the best I’ve ever had. The sandwich itself was slightly salt-less but with the spicy sauce and mayo sauce it was one of the best meals. Extremely filling, even after Hari bit half the sandwich off.   
 Ap and D ordered two versions of the penne pasta. Ap had the vegetarian version you see above and D decided to have grilled shrimp skewers with his.

Both tasted awesome but D’s shrimp skewers were so perfectly seasoned and complimented the pasta perfectly.  
 
I this Hari is going to start his restaurant diaries featuring all the restaurants he visits and has fish and chips at, because this is probably the 5-6 place he’s tried the fish and chips at. The halabot here was perfect. Light, flakey and simply delicious. 

Overall, this was an exceptional lunch. The impression you get of this place as you walk by is that it maybe expensive and overpriced. But the experience is just the opposite. It was reasonable, delicious and such a fantastic experience all-in-all. Even our server was a nice guy, who offered great suggestions and accommodates all of our requests!

Will I be going back? Absolutely! I’m actually hoping to make a trip for my birthday later this year. If you’re in the Niagara region, I highly recommend you make the trip to Niagara-on-the-lake and try this fantastic place out. You will not be disappointed!

Leave a Reply

