Restaurant Diaries: Taste of Greek Cuisine

Taste of Greek Cuisine | 3541 St. Clair Ave. East, Toronto, ON | 416.283.9573
Taste of Greek Cuisine | 3541 St. Clair Ave. East, Toronto, ON | 416.283.9573

Firstly, I will apologize for the terrible photos. It was really dark outside and my iPhone was being a jerk. So these are the best shots I could get.

Taste of Greek Cuisine is one of the best restaurants I’ve ever been to, especially in Toronto. I’ve gone to this restaurant for many years when they were located at Kingston Road and Lawrence Avenue East in Scarborough. However, a year or so ago they moved locations. The new place took long to open and was in a shady plaza, so D and I never bothered to check it out. But after the terrible experience we had at Astoria (read about it here), I was adamant to find a new Greek restaurant that served proper Greek food, instead of the crap Astoria was serving.

Driving around last weekend, trying to figure out what we were going to have for dinner, I remembered that the step-daughter of the owner’s of Taste of Greek Cuisine had mentioned that they had reopened and the food was still delicious. So, I convinced D to check it out. The area is a bit shady and so is the plaza the restaurant is in and they’ve downsized a lot compared to the old place. But the interior is nicely done, the service is exceptional as always and the food was just amazing.

As we walked in, the owner automatically recognized us as past customers from his other location and greeted us smiling and cheerfully. He sat us at our table and brought garlic bread and our drinks. Yum! Their garlic bread is always a treat but completely fills you up even before your appetizers arrive, so I try to only take a small piece.

Garlic Bread
Garlic Bread

A long time ago, D and I realized that we could not share a saganaki. So, every time we went to this restaurant, we ordered 2 saganakis and one entree to share. You can’t just share a saganaki, especially when it’s your favourite appetizer.

Saganaki
Saganaki
Greek Salad
Greek Salad

And as always, the saganaki was fantastic! I just love the experience of the sizzling plate, the flambé and then the yelling of “Opa”! You truly cannot enjoy Greek food without the “Opa!”

Fish and Chip
Fish and Chip

We decided not to order souvlaki this time, as the bread, salad and saganki had already filled us up. Instead, we shared a plate of fish and chips. Yum-my! The fish was perfectly cooked, soft and flaky on the inside and deliciously seasoned and crispy on the out. The chips were lightly seasoned and complimented the fish perfectly. I wasn’t too fond of the tartar sauce; it was slightly on the sweet side and didn’t give that tangy flavour as it should. However, the meal was delicious; just the way you expect your meal to be.

For $60 (taxes and tip included), I think you can’t get better Greek food in this city than this! I’m so glad D and I overlooked the neighbourhood and decided to check this place out, again. They deliver as well, so if I don’t want to brave the neighbourhood or plaza again, I could order and enjoy the deliciousness in the convenience of my home and so could you!

Check out their website, HERE or drop-in and try this amazing little, family owned restaurant. I promise you, you and your tastebuds will not be disappointed!

Leave a Reply

