Product Review: Origins’ Clear Improvement® Active Charcoal Mask Pods

s1566504-main-hero-300
Photo taken from: Sephora

Many of you may have heard of the new charcoal masks that are out in the markets these days, promising amazing results for your pores and complexion. Well, luckily for you, I recently bought one to test out and have some feedback for you!

I picked up the  Origins’ Clear Improvement® Active Charcoal Mask Pods from Sephora. I decided to buy the pods because they allow me to use them four times and I can easily throw out the packaging without having to deal with a tube or figuring out the correct amount of product to use.  I’ve only used them twice now because of lack of time and energy. Plus, you’re only supposed to use them once every couple of weeks.

The wow-factor of this charcoal mask is that it left my skin feeling incredibly soft, even and refreshed. The crap-factor is that it did nothing for my pores or so I didn’t notice any “wowing” effect on them.

The first time I tried the mask, it took longer than the 10-15 minutes to dry and using it in the shower wasn’t all that helpful because you’re supposed to soak your face with warm water, apply the mask, leave it for 15 minutes and then rinse off. Seriously, who has 15 minutes in the shower to be sitting with a mask on their face? I mean, a girls gotta wash her hair, scrub, exfoliate her skin/face, shave, and all that other stuff. Plus, being in the shower with it on doesn’t allow the mask to fully dry because you’re constantly getting little sprays of water on your face.

The second time I applied the mask (2-weeks later), I decided to take my shower first, so that the steam would open up my pores and then apply the mask. I let it dry while I was blow-drying my hair and then wiped it off with a cold, wet towel to help close the pores and remove the mask. I think the second time around, I got better results.

But like I said, I didn’t notice an incredible difference in my pores. My face was glowing and feeling gorgeous though!

Here’s my overall ratings: 

Application: Quick, easy and a little messy (5/5)
Smell: No smell! Yay! (5/5)
After application results: Soft skin, even complexion but no effects on my pores (3.5/5)
Overall rating: It doesn’t change your pores but it does leave your skin looking radiant. (4/5)
Would I buy it again: Yes! I love how my face looks and feels. Plus, I haven’t noticed any patchy, flaky dry skin where I normally would.
Would I recommend it to a friend: Absolutely!

Buy it here: Sephora

Here’s some info from the website:

What it is:
An active charcoal mask to clear pores.

What it is formulated to do:
When environmental toxins, dirt, and debris get under your skin, its waste-filtering system gets jammed, pores get clogged, and skin looks cloudy. Nature’s complexion clean-up crew gets to the bottom of skin’s overcast condition and clears the way for it to act its best. Activated charcoal acts like a magnet to draw out deep-dwelling pore-cloggers, white China clay absorbs environmental toxins, and lecithin dissolves impurities. Skin breathes a sigh of relief.

Leave a Reply

