A Couple Of Days Away

  I’m flying out to Detroit this evening for work. I’m excited to be taking a mini trip for work-related reasons as I haven’t had the opportunity to travel with my previous job. I’ll be home on Thursday afternoon, so it’s a pretty quick trip. But nonetheless, it’s a couple of nights away and I get to be on a plane; which I always love. There’s just something about being up in the sky, above the clouds, the take off and landing that certainly excites me. 
I had a very shitty last week. Everything that could go wrong at work, did. It was as if before one clusterfuck could end, another would start. Then my car’s emissions failed and ended up costing me a pretty penny to get fixed. Finally, the end of the week had me feeling a little better, as it was my birthday and my darling husband surprised me with so many things and kind gestures. I certainly felt loved and mich better about the week that had just passed. 

But yesterday came and I thought I was going to die. My car’s brakes failed while I was in the middle of the morning rush. Bumper to bumper traffic and my car wouldn’t stop. The split second from me realizing what was happening to finally getting the vehicle stopped, I saw my life flash by me. Thankfully, I wasn’t injured, the car will eventually be okay after a lot of money and servicing. But I was slightly traumatized by the experience. By the time I reach the mechanic, I was shaking and couldn’t help but cry. I called Dev and my boss to explain what happened and told them I was going to go home. 

For a long while though, I just said at the bus stop and didn’t move. I was confused and nervous and very much miserable. I got on the bus to go home but halfway there decided it would be better to go to work, especially with this trip looming over my head. 

I am fine, physically at least. Emotionally, I feel on edge and a bit unstable. A lot of little things and this big thing have happened over the past few days, I feel spent. So, I’m praying and hoping that this is the end of it for the next long while and this trip to Detroit will be refreshing and will tone down the crazy that has been my life over the past few days. 

Alright, I’m off now. Enjoy your week and don’t let the craziness of the ups and downs get the best of you. Xoxo

~Tamana

Leave a Reply

