It’s Been A Long Week

 On Monday my brakes failed as I was heading to work in the morning rush hour. My quick thinking saved my life as I pulled the emergency hand brake. I was minutes away from getting on one of the busiest highways in Toronto, the DVP or Don Vally Parkway for all of you that don’t know. Someone somewhere must really love me because had I gotten on the DVP and the brakes failed, I would have certainly been in a multi-vehicle crash. Thankfully, I am okay; a little shaken up but mostly okay. I got the car to the mechanics and he assessed and determined the brake fluid had completely leaked, resulting in my brakes giving out. In the process of braking, I blew a tire and caliber or whatever it’s called. The mechanics fixed everything and gave me a hefty bill. 

Within two weeks, I’ve paid over $1500 into this car. First the emissions issues and now this. I feel disgusted by it all but the car is okay and I didn’t get hurt; which is more valuable then all the costs. 

  Tuesday, I flew out to Dearborn, Michigan for a work summit for a couple of days. It was really nice being on the plane after so long. I don’t know what it is but I just love being in the plane. It’s this nostalgic feeling. The same feeling I get when I’m near water. The excitement of the takeoff and then flying above the clouds and cities. I love taking pictures of the ground. 

  My boss and the other chick with me were being a bit annoying. I mean, I like both of them but they were acting like a bunch of school girls, teasing and giggling. I felt a bit left out but whatever. After the other chick left, it was nice to spend some time with my boss and get to know her. We had a nice breakfast and dinner and drinks together. 

  Plus, I got to bond with our clients and colleagues from the Dearborn office; which was fantastic. I find it very important to have out-of-office time with your colleagues at least once, this allows you to see the person as a real person instead of just as a colleague and that makes a huge difference. 

Overall, it was a successful trip and I really enjoyed myself. The rest of the week was finished off with lots of catching up on work. Finally, yesterday Dev and I decided to list our car on Craigslist, Kijiji and Facebook Buy and Sell pages. We’ve also decided on a newer, used vehicle. We just need to sell our current vehicle and then we can move forward with the other vehicle. I’ll let you know how that goes.

I’m just happy that I’m safe and this week is over. Seems like, since November started its been quite bumpy, and as much as I love that it was my birthday month, I’m glad it’s almost over. 

Next weekend, I’m looking forward to start putting up Christmas and holiday decorations. I’ll share some ideas with you later in the week. Stay tuned for some frugal, DIY decorating tips!

Have yourself a wonderful Sunday and week ahead!

Leave a Reply

