Healthier Choices

  2016 started off bumpy for me, asyou’ve  probably read from my previous post. But I am not going to let it affect the goals I’ve set for myself. My goal to be happy is my top priority this year and a part of that happiness is to physically look happy. 

Yeah, you all have heard it a million times before from me that I’ll lose weight and look fabulous and all that other bull-crap. But this year, instead of focusing on losing weight, I am focusing on choosing healthier options for me and my family. Walking a lot more than I did before. I’m taking transit to and from work and even walking Nid to pre-school. I go to the further Tim Horton’s for coffee in the afternoon and walk up the stairs or escalator when I can. 

I’m also eating healthier. I’ve limited buying lunch to a maximum of two times a week. I pack my lunch every night and grab a snack bar or piece of fruit for breakfast before I run out the door. I’m also adding less sugar to my first cup of coffee (my second cup is normally black). I’m also trying to use less oil when I cook and adding spinach to everything; even my sandwiches and curries.

I’m not getting on the scale because then I’ll obsess about the change I do or don’t see. But I am watching how much more energy I have during the day. Yes, by the time I get home from work, I am exhausted. But throughout the day, I feel much more energized. 

Unfortunately, I’m battling a terrible case of vertigo these days and am on medication to try to resolve it; which has limited some of my extra walking (walking in the hallway of my building to get some more steps in). But the walking I am doing is keeping me well over 5000 steps a day and once this vertigo goes away, I’ll go back to walking the hallway to hit my daily target of 8000 steps and working myself up to 10k and more.

What are you doing to sty healthy or be healthier this year? Share your plans and ideas for healthier choices in 2016!

Leave a Reply

