An App & Reality Check Are Helping Me Reach My Goals


I was home on sick leave for nearly five months. I was dealing with an array of symptoms that eventually led to depression and the depression led to over eating. I knew I had gained weight but when I finally decided to get on the scale and check how much, I was left shocked and horribly depressed. I gained 17 lbs. in five months, sitting at home with minimal exercise. 17 frickin pounds!! I was already over weight to begin with but 17 extra pounds to deal with was not something I was looking forward to.

That was a reality check for me. How did I let myself go this far? Why didn’t I check before and get off my ass and start moving around? How the heck was I going to get rid of this extra weight and get healthy again?

I looked high and low for quick weight loss remedies and diets. But nothing was working. I wasn’t losing any weight and the fad diets were making me feel sluggish and drained; which led to even more depression. 

A friend mentioned downloading a health app and using that to help me lose weight. Really? An app to help me lose weight! How was that going to help? I questioned her recommendation and ended the conversation. 

Later however, I decided to go into the App Store and check out some apps. I’d heard a lot about FitBit, so decided to check it out. I downloaded the Fitbit App to see what all the commotion was about. For those of you who don’t know what Fitbit is, it’s a little bracelet that can track your physical activity and sleep patterns. I didn’t purchase the bracelet because it’s not in my budget to do so. Especially right now, since money is extremely tight. However, I decided to download the app on my iPhone. I constantly have my phone on me, so figure it will track my steps as much as possible. 

The app is easy to use and can be set up to your personal goals. Of course, my goal is to lose weight. So, I’ve indicated that on my app. I’ve also indicated how much weight I would like to lose. So, the app calculates how many calories I should be eating daily and how much water I need to consume to hit my target. It also gives me a date for when I will achieve my weight loss goal if I continue to follow the apps recommendations. My target weight loss date is August 2017. I’m trying to lose 93 lbs. 

At first, the daily calorie count was hard to maintain and I almost never was under or at the recommended calories I should be eating. However, with the help of putting in my daily calories, I come very close each day to not going over the recommended amount. I’ve also increased my water intake to nearly double what the app suggests. The app allows me to search for foods in the calorie chart, so that I can easily find how many calories a food has in it before I consume it. The more I walk, the higher calories I can consume that day. 

I downloaded the app on June 15th. Since then, I have lost 19 lbs. I follow the apps calorie recommendations Monday to Friday and eat as healthy as I can on those days. But allow myself to eat junk food or carbohydrates on the weekends. All in moderation, though. I’ve increase my water intake by 100% from the recommended amount on the app. So, now I’m up to four litres of water a day. I try to get in at least 5000-8000 steps each day and am trying to work my way up to at least 10000 steps daily. My calorie intake has been reduced to 1200 calories a day. 

And I don’t feel bloated, sluggish or crappy any more. My legs don’t hurt as much and I’m sleeping much better. The depression has seemed to fade away significantly because I’ve realized I’m working myself back to a better me and although the results don’t show on my body yet, I feel better as myself again. 
Dev says I look like I’ve lost weight. I don’t see it, though. But the fact that he’s noticed how hard I’ve been working and sees some of the results, makes me feel like I’m on the right track.

Fad diets only worked for a while. But this lifestyle change is showing me that it’s not all that hard to lose weight if you choose the right path and have the determination and the help from a little app!

Leave a Reply

