To The Man That Gave Me His Optimum Points

On Friday night I went into Shopper’s Drug Mart to grab a Christmas present for a friend. As I was waiting to cash out, the gentleman in front of me was purchasing numerous gift sets of perfume. He seemed nice and was joking with the cashier and me as we waited for his items to be rung up. Jokingly, I said to him, “you forgot my gift set.” He laughed and said had he known I was coming he would’ve waited. I laughed and thought that was the end of the conversation. But the cashier joked back and said that maybe he would give me his Optimum points for the transaction if he didn’t want them. He smiled and said, “sure, you can have those points.” 

I didn’t think much of it as I swiped my phone to collect the points. I thought maybe he gave me 2000-3000 points which isn’t a big deal. But after I finished paying for my own items and looked down at my receipt, I noticed that when I swiped my phone for his transaction there was preloaded 15x the points coupon on my account; which caused his transaction to give me 60,000 points, taking my point balance up to the $170 redemption mark. I looked at him and told him what he’d just done for me and he said, “well, Merry Christmas and if you’d like to pay it forward, give your time to the Salvation Army by volunteering.” I promised him that I would pay it forward before this holiday season was over, thanked him and walked out completely shocked and grateful for this man I’ve never met before.I mean who walks around giving people nearly $200 of points without a second thought? My husband still can’t believe it and neither can I.

Changing jobs has definitely put a slight damper on my budget this year and I am more cautious with how much I am spending on gifts and groceries. But with this generous gift from that gentleman, I can add a little extra for my family and friends or maybe even get myself a little gift this year.

To the man I’ve never seen before, who offered me his points at Shopper’s Drug Mart on Friday, I would like to say thank you and may God bless you for this simple but such kind gesture. I promise you, I will pay it forward by helping someone else that truly needs it. And I want you to know that you’ve restored a little bit faith in humanity for me and reminded me that nice people do still exist. Merry Christmas and a very Happy New Year to you and all of your loved ones.

Leave a Reply

