Cake Mix Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies 

I recently ran out of flour at home but have promised to make cookies for some of my customers and family. Going through my pantry I found a box of vanilla cake mix and decided to use that to bake some cookies. I followed a simple cookie recipe with the consideration that all my dry ingredients and flavouring was already premixed. 

Needless to say, the cookies turn out amazing and I am still awestruck at how easy this recipe was. After this first recipe turning out delicious, I decided to make a second, third and fourth batch with different ingredients. I used oatmeal and dried cranberries, white chocolate chips and almonds, and a batch of peanut butter chips.

Here’s the quick and easy recipe:

  • 1 box white cake mix (or chocolate)
  • 1/2 cup softened butter
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 tbsp vanilla essence 
  • 1/4 cup sugar

Here’s what you do:

  • Preheat oven to 350C.
  • Sift cake mix into mixing bowl, mix in sugar.
  • Add butter, vanilla and eggs and mix until a thick dough is created. 
  • Add extra ingredients (I used oatmeal & chocolate chips) and mix well.
  • Make 1 inch balls and drop on parchment lined baking sheet.
  • Bake for 7-10 minutes depending on how crispy or chewy you want your cookies.
  • Dust with icing sugar if desired and enjoy!

I bake my cookies for a bit longer because Dev likes well-done cookies. But once the top layer is no longer moist and bottoms golden, your cookies are ready. 

Leave a Reply

