Quick Update On Life

It’s Sunday morning and I’m finally able to sit in my balcony with a cup of coffee. It’s cold, windy and muggy outside but I’m dressed warm and enjoying my new patio set; which is what matters. The kiddo and hubby are asleep, so I’m enjoying the morning to myself. It’s nice to be able to enjoy the early morning without any responsibilities or list of chores to do.

My sister and nephew slept over last night; it was a nice evening with them. We went for dinner and watched movies until late into the night. Nid especially enjoys herself when my nephew and sister are around because she gets spoilt rotten. 

As for school, I finally got my scrubs (aka uniform)! I’ve done a couple of quizzes, my major group assignment and a final module exam. The exam was easier than I had expected and I aced it with a 98% grade. I know it’s just the beginning but I feel a sense of accomplishment and pride that I’m doing so well. 

The more I get into the course, I more I realize how much hard work is ahead of me. Everyone keeps telling me how exhausting the workload is. But people that I’ve spoken to outside of my course, whom had PSWs care for their parents or loved ones, tell me how appreciative they are for the PSWs. I guess that’s what makes this job so rewarding and worth the back-breaking labour. 

I’ve heard stories about the care and compassion these PSWs give and how they the depth of their care has benefited not just the patient they’ve worked for but also the family of the patient. 

It’s unfortunate that more people aren’t becoming PSWs with the rapid speed of our aging population. But the ones that are becoming it are deemed as a very special type of person, or so I’ve been told. 

Four weeks into the course and my outlook has very much changed. I’m a little more courteous and patient when I see an elderly or special-needs person. I feel more compassionate for these people and maybe even a little more empathetic; it’s a good feeling. 

Well, that’s where I am so far. Personality changing to a more calm, composed and passionate person and feeling a little more content with my life overall. I’ll keep you all posted on my progress. But until then, have a safe, beautiful and restful Sunday. 

~Tamana

Leave a Reply

